Not Just the ACBL Story – But HISTORY

True accounts of events and people who shaped the ACBL

ACBL Bridge Beat #50: 1957 Summer Nationals

leave a comment »

The 29th annual Summer National Championships were conducted at the Penn-Sheraton Hotel, Pittsburgh PA, July 27 – Aug. 4, 1957.

Attendance ran well over five thousand tables for the main body of the tournament which was equivalent to the 1956 New York tournament.

John Crawford scored the biggest personal triumph of the tournament, winning both the Mixed Teams and the Spingold. This made Crawford the holder of all five team championship trophies for the 1956-1957 season. He won the Chicago Trophy (now the Reisinger) and the Goren Trophy for the Men’s Teams at the Winter Nationals in 1956 and claimed the Vanderbilt in February of 1957. The two team events in Pittsburgh completed his tournament player’s “grand slam” and also earned him the Fishbein Trophy.

Marty Cohn and H. Sanborn Brown won the Master Pairs (now von Zedtwitz Life Master Pairs), Margaret Wagar and Kay Rhodes won the Whitehead Women’s Pairs for the third consecutive time, and John Hubble and David Carter won the Men’s Pairs (now the Wernher Open Pairs).


Written by acbl

April 27, 2012 at 8:03 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: